Fabricate Conference 2011

April 15, 2011 / M. Burry, T. Lucas, A. Sondergaard, A. Fisher, M. Verde, N. Oxman, A. Menges, S. Tibbits, H. Stehling, H. Ng, M. Kohler, M. Alemany, W. McGee, C. Ceccato, X. De Kestelier, P. Beeseley

External Event
Bartlett School, London, Great Britain

FABRICATE is an International Peer Reviewed Conference with supporting publication and exhibition to be held at The Bartlett School of Architecture in London from 15-16 April 2011. Discussing the progressive integration of digital design with manufacturing processes, FABRICATE will bring together pioneers in design and making within architecture, construction, engineering, manufacturing, materials technology and computation. Discussion on key themes will include: how digital fabrication technologies are enabling new creative and construction opportunities, the difficult gap that exists between digital modeling and its realization, material performance and manipulation, off-site and on-site construction, interdisciplinary education, economic and sustainable contexts. From more than 240 submissions our international panel of experts have independently blind reviewed and selected an innovative range of projects to feature in FABRICATE’s conference, exhibition and publication.

15th April 2011

Keynote Mark Burry
Morning Session – Physical Processes
Chair Michael Stacey

Tim Lucas (Price and Myers)
Asbjørn Søndergaard & Per Dombernowsky (Aarhus School of Architecture)
Al Fisher & Benjamin S. Koren (Buro Happold & 1:One Computational Geometry)
Marco Verde, MarkDavid Hosale & Jelle Feringa (TU Delft)

Keynote Neri Oxman
Afternoon Session – Material Systems
Chair Hanif Kara

Achim Menges, Simon Schleicher & Moritz Fleischmann (Institute for Computational Design, Stuttgart University)
Skylar Tibbits (MIT)
Hanno Stehling (Design to Production)
Ho-Yin Ng (AL_A)

16th April 2011

Keynote Matthias Kohler
Morning Session – Machines & The Bespoke
Chair Mette Ramsgard Thomsen

Marta Malé-Alemany (AA – IaaC)
Wes McGee (Taubman College)
Cristiano Ceccato (Zaha Hadid Architects)
Xavier De Kestelier (Foster + Partners)

Keynote Philip Beesley
Afternoon Session – Representation & Manufacture
Chair Robert Aish

Nat Chard (University of Manitoba)
Phil Ayres (CITA)
Enric Ruiz Geli (Cloud9)
Chiara Tuffanelli (Arup)

To the top of the page