BIM Award 2018

April 10, 2018 / Award
ICD/ITKE Research Pavilion 2016-17

ICD: Prof. A. Menges, B. Felbrich, M. Prado, D. Reist, L. Vasey
ITKE: Prof. J. Knippers, N. Früh, S. Saffarian, J. Solly

The ICD/ITKE Research Pavilion 2016-17 has received the BIM Award 2018 in the category "Research". The BIM Award is awarded annually by the BIM Cluster Baden-Württemberg to highlight outstanding projects with an emphasize on BIM methods and digital cooperative planning and building both in the construction industry and the scientific context.

The categories "Research" and "Teaching" are not exclusively accessible to academic applicants like universities, but to all groups contributing to the development and refinement of digital planning methods.

The involved research associates of ICD and ITKE received the award on behalf of the entire pavilion team at the House of the Architects in Stuttgart, Germany.

Photographs by BIM Cluster BW / Drees & Sommer


ICD Institute for Computational Design and Construction – Prof. Achim Menges

ITKE Institute of Building Structures and Structural Design – Prof. Jan Knippers


Scientific Development

Benjamin Felbrich, Nikolas Früh, Marshall Prado, Daniel Reist, Sam Saffarian, James Solly, Lauren Vasey


System Development, Fabrication and Construction

Miguel Aflalo, Bahar Al Bahar, Lotte Aldinger, Chris Arias, Léonard Balas, Jingcheng Chen, Federico Forestiero, Dominga Garufi, Pedro Giachini, Kyriaki Goti, Sachin Gupta, Olga Kalina, Shir Katz, Bruno Knychalla, Shamil Lallani, Patricio Lara, Ayoub Lharchi, Dongyuan Liu, Yencheng Lu, Georgia Margariti, Alexandre Mballa, Behrooz Tahanzadeh, Hans Jakob Wagner, Benedikt Wannemacher, Nikolaos Xenos, Andre Zolnerkevic, Paula Baptista, Kevin Croneigh, Tatsunori Shibuya, Nicoló Temperi, Manon Uhlen, Li Wenhan. With the support of Michael Preisack and Artyom Maxim.

In collaboration with:

Institute of Aircraft Design (IFB) – Prof. Dr.-Ing. P. Middendorf, Markus Blandl, Florian Gnädinger

Institute of Engineering Geodesy (IIGS) – Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Volker Schwieger, Otto Lerke

Department of Evolutionary Biology of Invertebrates, University of Tuebingen – Prof. Oliver Betz

Department of Palaeontology of Invertebrates, University of Tuebingen – Prof. James Nebelsick


Supported by

Volkswagen Stiftung


Kuka Roboter GmbH

Peri GmbH

SGL Technologies GmbH

Hexion Stuttgart GmbH

Ed. Züblin AG

Lange Ritter GmbH

Stahlbau Wendeler GmbH

Leica Geosystems GmbH


Researchers on this project have received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Sklodoska-Curie grant agreement No 642877, from the Collaborative Research Centre CRC 141 of the German Research Foundation and from the Volkswagen Stiftung’s Experiment! funding programme.

Contact information


Institute for Computational Design and Construction

University of Stuttgart, Keplerstraße 11, 70174 Stuttgart

To the top of the page